Virginia Car Insurance
Virginia auto insurance law is slightly different from the other region’s insurance policies and regulations. The Virginia auto law requires that a driver if involved in a car accident or road accident have to pay for the human injury as well as for the property damage.
The maximum amount can vary, but minimum financial responsibility usually starts from $20,000. The minimum amount for paying full financial coverage, including injury and damage, could even reach up to $50,000 per accident.
This financial liability could prove extremely damaging condition for the driver. The heavy burden of paying a considerable sum at short notice is generally not possible. Therefore, as a responsible and wise human, the driver should opt for taking auto insurance for fulfilling any financial burden for an accident.
The best idea would be opting for Virginia car insurance, which not only gives full coverage for property damage inflicted in a road accident but also pays for human injury. There are many cheap car insurances in Virginia, which require small premiums to paid yearly or half-yearly.
What is the case with uninsured or underinsured drivers?
Uninsured car drivers are those drivers who have not taken any auto insurance for their automobiles, and underinsured auto drivers are those people who have taken some auto insurance but have not enough insurance coverage to pay for the injuries or property damage.
A driver can drive a car or any automobile for 12 months without taking any insurance coverage. The only need is to pay an auto fee of $500 for driving the car on the street of Virginia, but again this is very risky.
In both cases, it would be difficult for a driver to fulfill the financial liability of an accident. Therefore, it would be a wise decision to opt for any cheap Virginia auto insurance to get at least minimum coverage for any damage.
A driver should also look for optional car insurance
Now many people do not know about optional auto or car insurance. It gives extra financial coverage for damages incurred in an accident. In a standard car insurance policy only major things are covered like financial coverage for injury or property damage while in optional auto insurance some of the other damage is also covered. For example
- Coverage for car damage inflicted through vandalism which is not included in standard insurance.
- Coverage for personal injury to the driver.
- Financial coverage for damages in collision in a traffic accident.
Optional car insurance is a beneficial step for a driver as it covers extra damages occurring in accidents. There are many cheap car insurances in Virginia, which offer an optional car insurance feature in combination with standard coverage. Therefore, a driver should always look for that kind of insurance option in Virginia.
Is it essential to take optional car insurance in Virginia?
The Virginia auto law does not have any mandatory condition for optional car insurance policy. It means that in Virginia it is not mandatory or must to take any optional car insurance. Anyone with standard auto insurance can drive a car without any problem.
Then why look out for optional auto insurance?
Finance companies and banks, which have financed your car would put your car under the forced placed insurance category if you have not taken any optional auto insurance. Putting your vehicle into this particular category would benefit the bank or company and not the driver or owner of the car. Therefore, it is a wise decision to choose any auto insurance, which also provides you the optional auto insurance. It will cover all the collision and coverage type damage.
What are the possible fines or penalties for not taking any car insurance?
The Virginia Department of Motor can track your car insurance policy electronically with the help of your insurance companies. If they find any driver without auto insurance or if any driver gets caught for not registering their car for uninsured driving, the following things will be suspended with immediate effect:
- Driving license
- License plates
- Registration of vehicle
Therefore, to reinstate all of the above documents, you must pay $500 fine and be filing a proof of insurance certification called SR-22 for next 3 years. SR- 22 certification allows the driver to run his or her with proper car insurance. It is not insurance in itself rather a document or proof that your car is insured or have an insurance policy.
Is there any penalty for no car insurance in Virginia?
Yes, definitely. In Virginia, the penalties are present for getting caught without auto insurance. In combination with penalties, a driver has to take some extra step like taking SR- 22 certification or FR-44 certification.
The FR-44 certification makes the driver opt for increased limits of financial coverage in car insurance. The amount is as follows:
- $50,000 ($25,000 standard) for one person injury
- $100,000 ($50,000 standard) for injury and property damage
- $40,000 ($20,000 standard) for only property damage in an accident.
It is to be noted that opting FR-44 certification will result in higher premium rates. Therefore, it would be a wise decision to take auto insurance for your car before any penalties or without opting out for above certification.
Are there any conditions for determining policy premium rates in Virginia?
Driver’s age, Credit score, Driving record and model of the car are some of the parameters to determine the premium to be paid for the car insurance.
There are many types of car insurance available in Virginia like Good student discount, good driver discount, multi-car discount and anti-theft discount, etc. Discounts will make auto insurance rates much cheaper and affordable. So always make great use of the following options.
Virginia auto insurance laws are quite rigid in checking car insurance policy. Therefore, it is advisable to take Virginia auto insurance for your car to keep yourself and your vehicle safe. Always drive safe and secure yourself and your family from the uncertainties of the future.