West Virginia Car Insurance
Drivers in The Mountain State should know
The West Virginia car insurance law functions on the traditional fault-based system. What this means is that the cost of medical expenses or damages caused to any property or person will be evaluated strictly on which party (involved in the accident) bears more responsibility for causing the crash.
This means that the party who is at most fault for the accident will have to pay more for any medical/ damage coverage. This is the most convenient method of going about an accident since in most cases the insurance company and the insured person argue on how much they owe for the accidents. It is a simple process to verify your car insurance validity in West Virginia. The authorities can confirm it with a simple online system, and the West Virginia car insurance laws have strict laws against it, so make sure your car insurance is valid and authorized at all times.
West Virginia Car Insurance Requirements
When you register your motor vehicle under the State of West Virginia, you are required to insure your vehicle against any future occurrence/accidents. The minimum insurance policy is regulated by the West Virginia car insurance laws includes-
- Liability coverage
- Uninsured motorist coverage
The “Liability protection coverage” will cover all your medical expenses in case of an accident. In addition to your medical expenses, it will also include any damages to someone else’s property, vehicle damage, passengers, driver and pedestrians who may be injured due to the accident that you caused. For more protection for any severe accidents that may occur, it is always best to invest more in your Liability protection Coverage. Once you’ve used up all your liability protection coverage, you will have to spend your expenses, so it’s more logical to invest more in your liability insurance.
The minimum amounts you can invest in your Liability Protection Coverage are as follows-
- $25,000 liability insurance in case of bodily injury or accident leading to the death of a person and caused by the owner of the vehicle under whose name the car is insured
- $50,000 liability insurance in case of total/ severe bodily injury or accident causing death due to the sole fault of the owner/ driver under whose name the car is insured
- $25,000 liability insurance in case of any damages caused to someone else’s property and caused by the owner of the vehicle under whose name the car is insured
The liability coverage will also apply to any person in your family/ friend if they are driving with your permission. Even if the person operating the vehicle does not possess a car insurance policy, your insurance policy will cover their accident expenses. The same will work for you if you are driving someone else’s vehicle without insurance.
Uninsured Motorist Coverage
As the name suggests, the uninsured insurance will cover up the expense for any damage (either to the property or person) if you are involved in an accident with a driver who doesn’t have his car insurance. You can invest how much you can afford at the time of registering your car for insurance. There is, however, a minimum requirement for investing in your uninsured insurance coverage-
- $10,000 in case of bodily injury, per person
- $50,000 in case of any damages to someone else’s property
- $30,000 in case of bodily injury, per accident
Optional Car Insurance
You must keep in mind that your Liability coverage and your uninsured insurance do not cover up for your vehicle damage or injuries. So after all that investment, you are getting nothing for yourself. This may be of a different case if the person you are involved in the accident has his/her car insurance that can cover up your injuries or damages caused. However, if they don’t, then you will need additional coverage to look after your damaged vehicle any other expenses after an accident.
Collision insurance is one such coverage that comes under West Virginia optional insurance. You can obtain the collision insurance when availing the other related car insurance from your insurance company. It is, however, important to note that to insure your car against collision, you may have to agree to some terms and condition with your insurance providers like leasing your car or financing agreement.
The state of West Virginia car insurance law dictates that you carry a WV-1 form at all times. The WV-1 form is nothing but your insurance certification approved and issued by the West Virginia insurance authorities. You will have to produce the certificate at all times in case of any suspicion or accident.
Also if you have moved to West Virginia recently and wished to register your car under the West Virginia state, you will have to produce your present vehicle’s car insurance proof. Once you have registered successfully under the West Virginia car insurance law, you will no longer need to provide the car insurance documentation for renewing your car registration.
The DMV of West Virginia makes use of an electronic system to verify your car insurance validity with the help of the State’s online verification process. It is therefore not necessary to carry or produce the WV-1 certification whether you are trying to register your car or renewing your car registration. This is more convenient and simple if all your insurance documents are in order.
- Driving Without Insurance in West Virginia as per section 17D – 2A-7 of the West Virginia driving code, anyone found guilty of not possessing proper car insurance has to deal with.
- For a first offense, the driver/owner will be fined with $200 and also the driving license will be suspended for a period of 30 days. The period will increase until a proper insurance proof is produced.
- For the second offense, the driver license of the driver will be suspended/ regarded as invalid for a minimum period of 60 days. Also, the car registration will be revoked until such times you produce valid car insurance.